Intent guide

The real monthly cost of running AI agents

A serious "live mode" AI agent lands in the $100–$300/month band on flat subscriptions, or roughly $1–$150/month on pay-per-token API for typical agent workloads. Claude Max runs $100–$200/month, ChatGPT Plus/Pro $20–$200/month, Google AI plans $4.99–$199.99/month, and SuperGrok $30–$300/month — all prices checked September 21, 2026. None of the big labs offer public consumer affiliate programs; the affiliate programs worth promoting are adjacent tools like API gateways, coding agents, and compute.

Prices checked September 21, 2026 against the sources below. Prices change — open the cited source before quoting a figure.

The two questions that started this page

Comment mining on The Koerner Office YouTube channel (15 public videos, 652 comments, September 2026) ranked "AI tool costs / which AI" the second-loudest question cluster. Two verbatim viewer quotes:

"Soooo how much does it cost to run a live mode agent, or any of these tasks? Token token $$$"

"Do you have to spend $200 per month on Claude… I am only spending $20 per month right now"

Koerner's "live mode" is an always-on AI sales agent re-running a prompt on an hourly cadence. Viewers want the honest monthly cost of running one — subscriptions, API tokens, and the stack around them.

Claude (Anthropic)

PlanPriceNotes
Free$0Chat only; no Claude Code
Pro$20/mo ($17 annual)Claude Code + Cowork included
Max 5x$100/mo5x Pro usage
Max 20x$200/mo20x Pro usage
Team Standard$25/seat/mo2-seat minimum
Team Premium$125/seat/moIncludes Claude Code + Cowork
Enterprise$20/seat + API usage20-seat minimum

API (per 1M tokens in/out): Sonnet 5 $2/$10 (intro rate reported permanent as of 2026-08-11; see open questions), Opus 5 $5/$25, Haiku 4.5 $1/$5, Fable 5/5.1 $10/$50. Prompt caching cuts input cost roughly 90%; Batch API is 50% off. Sources: CloudZero, Fello AI, MorphLLM (all updated September 2026). Anthropic publishes no public consumer affiliate program — official pricing (no affiliate link).

ChatGPT (OpenAI)

PlanPriceNotes
Free$0Ad-supported
Go$8/moStill ad-supported; 10x free limits
Plus$20/moAd-free; Codex included
Pro$100/mo5x Plus limits; Codex included
Pro (20x)$200/moNew sign-ups/upgrades paused since 2026-09-10

API billing is separate — a Plus/Pro subscription buys no API allowance. Sources: CalculatorAI (checked Sep 13, 2026), AIPricing.guru (verified Sep 21, 2026). OpenAI publishes no public consumer affiliate program — official pricing (no affiliate link).

Google AI (Gemini)

PlanPriceNotes
Free$0Generous; Gemini CLI 60 req/min
AI Plus$4.99/mo2x free usage
AI Pro$19.99/moGemini 3.1 Pro; CLI + Code Assist
AI Ultra$99.99 or $199.99/mo5x / 20x Pro usage (tier naming varies across sources)

Sources: PricePerToken, saascrmreview.com (September 2026). Google publishes no public AI-plan affiliate program — official plans (no affiliate link).

Grok (xAI)

PlanPriceNotes
Free$0Limited queries
X Premium$8/moBasic Grok
X Premium+$16/moHigher limits
SuperGrok Lite$10/moLight creation tier
SuperGrok$30/mo ($300/yr annual)Full Grok 4.x, DeepSearch
SuperGrok Heavy$300/moMax limits, Grok Build CLI

API: grok-4.3 $1.25/$2.50 per 1M tokens; tool calls extra ($5/1k searches). Source: BizzmarkBlog (verified September 2026). xAI publishes no public consumer affiliate program — official site (no affiliate link).

Agentic coding tools

ToolEntryHeavy
Claude Code$20/mo (Pro)$100–$200 (Max 5x/20x)
Cursor$20/mo (Pro)$60 (Pro+) / $200 (Ultra)
Codex (OpenAI)Bundled with ChatGPT Plus $20Bundled with Pro $100–$200
Gemini CLIFree tier generous$19.99 (AI Pro)
GitHub Copilot$10/mo (Pro)$39/mo (Pro+)
Windsurf$20/mo (Pro)$200/mo (Max)

Source: claude-code-tips pricing matrix (March 2026).

Subscription vs API for agent workloads

Interactive use (you at a keyboard)

Flat subscriptions typically win. Anthropic's own data: the average Claude Code user runs roughly $6/dev/day, 90% under $12/day — about $100–$200/month, exactly the Max band.

Automation (scripts, CI, always-on agents)

API pay-per-token. No monthly floor, but no cap either — set spend limits. Typical OpenClaw-style agents run $1–$150/month; heavy users report $200+, one reported $623/month.

The $200/month question, answered

The viewer's instinct was right. A serious "live mode" agent lands in the $100–$300/month band on subscriptions, or roughly $1–$150/month on API for typical workloads. A real reported hybrid stack: Claude Max $100 + VPS $7 + OpenRouter $3–8 + X API $1–5 ≈ $111–120/month.

Breakeven rule of thumb

Divide the monthly subscription fee by your cost per agent request. At roughly 10% of Max 20x usage, API would cost about $365/month versus $200 for the subscription — the sub wins past that line.

The gotcha: consumer subscriptions can't run autonomous agents

Anthropic's terms bar consumer subscriptions from being used with automated tools, bots, or the Agent SDK — only the Claude Code CLI and claude.ai are allowed. A true 24/7 autonomous agent needs API keys, not a $20 subscription. Check the current terms before recommending a stack shape; terms change.

Where the affiliate programs actually are

Honest finding first: none of the big labs offer a public consumer affiliate program. No Anthropic/Claude affiliate links, no OpenAI affiliate program, no Google AI-plan affiliate, no xAI affiliate. (Anthropic's Claude Partner Network is B2B services firms, not affiliate links.) If any lab launches a consumer affiliate program, this page becomes directly monetizable overnight — until then, the programs worth promoting are the adjacent tools in the agent stack below, all verified records in this directory. Alphabetical, not ordered by rate.

  1. AI/ML APIUp to 30% (lifetime on all referred payments) · recurring · Rewardful · free plan (checked Aug 25, 2026) · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  2. Bolt.new15% of subscription payments up to $50 per referral · hybrid · Cello · free plan (checked Sep 5, 2026) · verified Sep 5, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  3. Devs.ai20% of Net Revenue for the first 12 months · 180-day cookie · PartnerStack · free plan (checked Aug 25, 2026) · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  4. Firecrawl25% of every referred subscription for 12 months, then 15% ongoing · recurring · Dub (partners.dub.co) · free plan (checked Aug 25, 2026) · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  5. Kilo CodeFlat one-time: $9.50 (Starter) / $24.50 (Pro) / $99.50 (Expert) per paying customer · one-time · 30-day cookie · free plan (checked Aug 25, 2026) · free trial, 14 days · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  6. LovableEarn up to $100 for each first-time subscriber you refer · one-time · 7-day cookie · Impact · free plan (checked Aug 25, 2026) · free trial (length not stated) · verified Sep 5, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  7. Massed Compute10% uncapped commission on GPU rentals (plus 20% audience discount codes) · recurring · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  8. Novita AI10% of referred users' spending for the first 180 days · recurring · 60-day cookie · Tapfiliate · free trial, 90 days · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  9. RunPod3%-5% kickback for 6 months; 10% affiliate tier by invitation · recurring · PartnerStack · free trial (length not stated) · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  10. Vast.ai3% of referred users' lifetime spend (paid as referral credits; up to 75% cashable out via Stripe Connect, PayPal, or Wise) · recurring · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗
  11. Z.ai GLM Coding PlanUp to 20% back in credits on every purchase, unlimited · recurring · Direct · verified Sep 2, 2026 · Terms source ↗

Also adjacent: VPS/hosting for self-hosted agents and OpenRouter-style gateways. Buyer links on record pages route through affiliate tracking where held, each marked sponsored.

What we could not verify

  • Sonnet 5 API rate: is $2/$10 (not $3/$15) confirmed permanent? August vs September sources conflict.
  • ChatGPT Pro $200 tier: has the new-signup pause been lifted? Re-check before quoting.
  • Anthropic consumer ToS: current exact wording on automation/bots with subscriptions.
  • Google AI Ultra: $99.99 vs $199.99 vs $249.99 tier naming — confirm the current lineup.
  • Cursor referral/affiliate terms — commission structure, cookie length.

Unknown stays unknown here; these are flagged, not guessed.

Pricing sources

All pricing tables checked September 21, 2026. Re-verify quarterly (next: December 2026).

How records are checked · Best AI affiliate programs · Browse all 275 programs